Who is the CEO of National Stock Exchange of India Ltd?
Ashishkumar Chauhan is the Managing Director and CEO of National Stock Exchange of India Ltd.
The National Stock Exchange of India (NSE) IPO will give investors an opportunity to participate in the listing of one of India’s leading stock exchanges. The IPO is planned as an Offer for Sale (OFS). This guide explains how investors can apply for the NSE IPO, the steps involved, key requirements, and important details to check before submitting an application.
National Stock Exchange of India Ltd (NSE) is one of India’s leading stock exchanges. The company was incorporated on November 27, 1992 and was recognised as a stock exchange by SEBI in 1993. NSE introduced screen-based trading in 1994 and has since expanded across several segments of the Indian capital market. As of March 31, 2026, 2,978 entities were listed on NSE, including 554 SME companies. The exchange also supports equity, debt and derivatives markets.
NSE operates across trading, clearing and settlement, market data and index services. Its trading services cover equity, equity derivatives, debt, currency derivatives and commodity derivatives. NSE has maintained a strong position across these segments. In FY2026, it accounted for 92.99% of India’s cash market turnover and 99.79% of equity futures turnover. Its equity options premium turnover market share stood at 74.71%. NSE also had 51.18% of the global equity derivatives contracts market in FY2026.
The National Stock Exchange of India (NSE) IPO is an Offer for Sale (OFS) by existing shareholders. There is no fresh issue of shares. The IPO comprises up to 12.64 crore equity shares. The price band is fixed at ₹1,700 to ₹1,785 per share. The issue will open on September 17, 2026 and close on September 21, 2026.
According to the RHP, the key objectives are:
Offer for Sale by existing shareholders
The IPO will allow existing shareholders to sell up to 12.64 crore equity shares to public investors.
Achieve the benefits of listing
The IPO will facilitate the listing of NSE's equity shares on the BSE.
Enhance visibility and brand image
Listing is expected to increase the company's visibility and strengthen its public market profile.
Provide liquidity and a public market for NSE shares
The listing will create a formal market for NSE's equity shares and provide shareholders with a platform for liquidity and price discovery.
Particulars | Date |
IPO Open Date | September 17, 2026 |
IPO Close Date | September 21, 2026 |
Allotment Date | September 22, 2026 |
Funds Unblock or Debit Date | September 22, 2026 |
Tentative Listing Date | September 24, 2026 |
The NSE IPO has a price band of ₹1,700 to ₹1,785 per equity share.
Investors can place bids within the announced price band.
The final Offer Price will be determined through the book-building process.
The IPO will be open for subscription from September 17 to September 21, 2026.
At the upper end of the price band, the IPO is expected to raise around ₹22,568.94 crore.
The NSE IPO has a minimum lot size of 8 equity shares.
At the upper price of ₹1,785 per share, one lot will cost ₹14,280.
The minimum investment figure of ₹13,600 is based on the lower price of ₹1,700 per share.
Investors can apply for shares in multiples of the specified lot size.
Applications can be made through the applicable ASBA and UPI mechanisms.
Here is how you can apply for the National Stock Exchange of India IPO through your trading platform. Follow these steps to submit your IPO application and complete the UPI payment process.
Step 1: Login to Your Trading Platform
Step 2: Navigate to the IPO Section
Step 3: Select the Open IPO and Click Apply
Step 4: Enter the Quantity of Shares You Wish to Apply For
Step 5: Provide Your UPI ID
Step 6: Confirm the Application
Step 7: Complete the Process and Wait for IPO Allotment Status
The table below lists the key selling shareholders and the number of shares each is offering in the NSE IPO.
No. | Selling Shareholder | Type | Maximum Equity Shares Offered | Weighted Average Cost of Acquisition (₹) |
1 | State Bank of India | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 15,969,410 | 0.80 |
2 | Canada Pension Plan Investment Board | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 11,874,060 | 324.13 |
3 | Aranda Investments (Mauritius) Pte Ltd | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 11,246,336 | 62.38 |
4 | MS Strategic (Mauritius) Limited | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 11,000,000 | 66.54 |
5 | The New India Assurance Company Ltd. | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 10,500,000 | 0.32 |
6 | SBI Capital Markets Limited (SS) | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 8,780,590 | 0.38 |
7 | Bank of Baroda | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 7,690,375 | 0.54 |
8 | Stock Holding Corporation of India Limited | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 6,187,500 | 0.46 |
9 | General Insurance Corporation of India | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 6,187,500 | 5.26 |
10 | United India Insurance Company Limited | Corporate Selling Shareholder | 6,000,000 | 0.50 |
Total income: NSE reported total income of ₹18,713.37 crore in FY2026, compared with ₹19,176.83 crore in FY2025 and ₹16,352.06 crore in FY2024.
Revenue from operations: Revenue from operations stood at ₹16,601.31 crore in FY2026, against ₹17,140.68 crore in FY2025.
Profit after tax: NSE reported a PAT of ₹10,302.06 crore in FY2026. This was lower than ₹12,187.69 crore in FY2025, but higher than ₹8,305.74 crore in FY2024.
Operating EBITDA: Operating EBITDA stood at ₹11,097.90 crore in FY2026, compared with ₹12,646.88 crore in FY2025 and ₹9,869.81 crore in FY2024.
Operating EBITDA margin: The operating EBITDA margin was 66.85% in FY2026, compared with 73.78% in FY2025 and 66.78% in FY2024.
Dividend: NSE declared a dividend of ₹35 per share for FY2026, unchanged from FY2025.
Trading dependence: NSE's revenue is linked to trading activity. Lower volumes could affect transaction income.
Regulatory changes: Changes in SEBI rules and market regulations may affect operations and costs.
Technology risks: System failures, cyberattacks or disruptions could affect trading services and investor confidence.
Derivatives concentration: Changes in equity derivatives activity or regulations may impact revenues.
Growing participation: India's expanding investor and demat account base can support market activity.
Passive investing: Rising index fund and passive fund adoption can support NSE's index and data services.
GIFT City growth: Expansion of the IFSC market offers scope for new business.
New listings: Growth in startups and SMEs can create opportunities for listing and related services.
Ratio | FY2026 | FY2025 |
ROE (%) | 32.98% | 44.87% |
ROCE (%) | 42.80% | 52.11% |
Debt/Equity | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
RoNW (%) | 33.21% | 45.14% |
PAT Margin (%) | 50.98% | 55.30% |
Particulars | Details |
Registrar to the Issue | MUFG Intime India Pvt. Ltd. |
Lead Managers | Kotak Mahindra Capital Company Ltd., ICICI Securities Ltd., JM Financial Ltd., J.P. Morgan India Pvt. Ltd., Citigroup Global Markets India Pvt. Ltd., Motilal Oswal Investment Advisors Ltd., DAM Capital Advisors Ltd., Morgan Stanley India Company Pvt. Ltd., Anand Rathi Advisors Ltd., IDBI Capital Markets & Securities Ltd., HSBC Securities & Capital Markets (India) Pvt. Ltd., IIFL Capital Services Ltd., HDFC Bank Ltd., Avendus Capital Pvt. Ltd., Pantomath Capital Advisors Pvt. Ltd., Axis Capital Ltd., Equirus Capital Pvt. Ltd., Nuvama Wealth Management Ltd. and 360 ONE WAM Ltd. |
Listing Exchange | BSE Ltd. |
Particulars | Details |
Company Name | National Stock Exchange of India Ltd. |
Registered & Corporate Office | Exchange Plaza, C-1, Block G, Bandra Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai – 400 051, Maharashtra, India |
CIN | U67120MH1992PLC069769 |
Telephone | +91 22 2659 8100 |
Website |
Ashishkumar Chauhan is the Managing Director and CEO of National Stock Exchange of India Ltd.
The NSE IPO will open for subscription on September 17, 2026.
NSE operates exchange, clearing, listing, index, market data and other financial market services; its scale, technology and diversified offerings support long-term sustainability, although trading volumes and regulatory changes remain key factors.
The IPO comprises an offer for sale of up to 126,436,650 equity shares of face value ₹1 each.
Pre-apply allows investors to submit their IPO application details before the issue opens, so the bid can be processed when the subscription window begins.
The lot size is 8 shares, making the minimum investment ₹13,600 at the lower price band of ₹1,700 per share.
The tentative allotment date is September 22, 2026, subject to the final IPO schedule.
MUFG Intime India Pvt. Ltd is the registrar for the NSE IPO.
The RHP does not identify any specific governance red flag in NSE’s board structure. The company does not have an identifiable promoter under the SEBI ICDR Regulations and the Companies Act, 2013. Its Governing Board includes a Chairperson and Public Interest Directors, along with the Managing Director and CEO, non-independent directors and executive directors.
Retail investors can apply for the NSE IPO through the ASBA process using UPI or through their bank's ASBA facility.
Yes. A Demat account is mandatory to apply for the NSE IPO.
Investors can check their allotment status through the IPO registrar, MUFG Intime India Private Limited, which is the Registrar to the Offer for the NSE IPO. Investors can also check their bank account or UPI mandate to see whether the blocked amount has been debited or released.
Disclaimer :
Investments in securities market are subject to market risk, read all related documents carefully before investing. This content is for educational purposes only. Securities quoted are exemplary and not recommendatory.
The information on this website is provided on "AS IS" basis. Bajaj Broking (BFSL) does not warrant the accuracy of the information given herein, either expressly or impliedly, for any particular purpose and expressly disclaims any warranties of merchantability or suitability for any particular purpose. While BFSL strives to ensure accuracy, it does not guarantee the completeness, reliability, or timeliness of the information. Users are advised to independently verify details and stay updated with any changes. The securities are quoted as an example and not as a recommendation. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future performance.
The information provided on this website is for general informational purposes only and is subject to change without prior notice. BFSL shall not be responsible for any consequences arising from reliance on the information provided herein and shall not be held responsible for all or any actions that may subsequently result in any loss, damage and/or liability. Interest rates, fees, and charges etc., are revised from time to time, for the latest details please refer to our Pricing page.
Neither the information, nor any opinion contained in this website constitutes a solicitation or offer by BFSL or its affiliates to buy or sell any securities, futures, options or other financial instruments or provide any investment advice or service.
BFSL is acting as distributor for non-broking products/ services such as IPO, Mutual Fund, Insurance, PMS, and NPS. These are not Exchange Traded Products. For more details on risk factors, terms and conditions please read the sales brochure carefully before investing.
Content Partner - Dalal Street Investment Journal Wealth Advisory Private Limited
This article is for educational purposes only and should not be considered investment advice. Market investments are subject to risks. DSIJ Wealth Advisory Private Limited is a SEBI-registered Research Analyst (Reg. No: INH000006396) and Investment Adviser (Reg. No: INA000001142). Please consult your financial adviser before investing.
For more disclaimer, check here : https://www.bajajbroking.in/disclaimer
Level up your stock market experience: Scan the QR to download the Bajaj Broking App for effortless investing and trading