Share Market Holiday List 2024

Listen to our Podcast: Grow your wealth and keep it secure.

0:00 / 0:00


India is a land of cultural diversities with every festival being celebrated with equal fervour. Hence, there are national holidays, public holidays, and various festival holidays. The stock market exchanges in India also have their own set of holidays. These share market holiday and NSE holidays are the days when stock exchanges are closed for trading activities. Investors need to know about these days so that they can prepare and plan well in advance.

The stock markets remain closed on Saturdays and Sundays and are open on all weekdays. Circulations and notifications are released from time to time to give further details on the share market holiday list for 2024.

In this article, we are going to cover the Indian share market holiday list 2024 as mentioned by the National Stock Exchange (NSE) and the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE).

On these NSE holidays, no trade and settlement will happen on Equity Delivery, Equity Intraday, and Futures and options segments.

BSE and NSE Holidays 2024 List

Listed below is the share market holiday list for 2024 (BSE and NSE, except for Saturdays and Sundays):

Sr. No.DateDayDescription
1January 26, 2024FridayRepublic Day
2March 08, 2024FridayMahashivratri
3March 25, 2024MondayHoli
4March 29, 2024FridayGood Friday
5April 11, 2024ThursdayId-Ul-Fitr (Ramadan Eid)
6April 17, 2024WednesdayShri Ram Navmi
7May 01, 2024WednesdayMaharashtra Day
8June 17, 2024MondayBakri Id
9July 17, 2024WednesdayMoharram
10August 15, 2024ThursdayIndependence Day/Parsi New Year
11October 02, 2024WednesdayMahatma Gandhi Jayanti
12November 01, 2024FridayDiwali Laxmi Pujan*
13November 15, 2024FridayGurunanak Jayanti
14December 25, 2024WednesdayChristmas

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on Tuesday, November 1st, 2024, (Diwali *Laxmi Pujan). Timings for the Muhurat trading will be notified by the exchange subsequently.

Kindly Note: Market in India has weekly holidays on Saturdays and Sundays.

Sr. No.DateDayDescription
1April 14, 2024SundayDr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti
2April 21, 2024SundayShri Mahavir Jayanti
3September 07, 2024SaturdayGanesh Chaturthi
4October 12, 2024SaturdayDussehra
5November 02, 2024SaturdayDiwali-Balipratipada
6November 01, 2024 (Muhurat Trading)FridayMuhurat Trading*

Certain share market holiday in 2024 may fall on Saturday or Sunday. In this case, they don't add up to the number of holidays in the year.

Share Market Timings

Whether it’s equity intraday, equity delivery, or F&O, Trading takes place on all the days of the week except on the weekends i.e., Saturdays and Sundays, and on share market holiday which are mentioned in the NSE holidays list 2024.

Pre-Open Session: Opens at 09:00 AM and closes at 09:08 AM

Regular Trading Session: Market Opens at 09:15 AM and closes at 15:30

Closing Session: It is held between 3:40 PM to 4:00 PM

Block Deal Session:

- Morning Window: 08:45 AM to 09:00 AM

- Afternoon Window: 14:05 PM to 14:20 PM

Share this article: 

Read More Blogs

Our Secure Trading Platforms

Level up your stock market experience: Download the Bajaj Broking Mobile App for effortless investing and trading

Bajaj Broking App Download

6.5 Lac+ Users


4.1 App Rating


4 Languages


₹ 3500 Cr MTF Book